It’s the Final Countdown!

Ladies and gentlemen, in less than three weeks time I will be a college graduate! To be perfectly honest, I’m pretty terrified about this fact. I’m nervous about a lot of things: getting all of my school work turned in on time, making good grades on my assignments so that I can graduate cum laude, and mostly I’m worried about how sad I’m going to be when I graduate and say goodbye to my friends. In regard to making sure I turn in all of my assignments on time, I have made myself a checklist with all of the assignments I have left to do. I am taking 4 classes this semester and, apart from my finals, all I have left to do is two article reviews (one for Intermediate Accounting Two, and one for Cost Management Two), and a fairly hefty project for Accounting Information Systems. That really does not seem like a lot, but for some reason I am dragging my feet on completing them. I keep telling myself that I need to do them as soon as I can so that I can spend the rest of the time studying for my finals (which are next week), but I think once I finish these assignments it is going to be more real that my undergraduate career is over. That scares me. I have already found the articles that I’m going to review through the LMU Databases and Business Source Complete, my favorite resource through all of my research projects, and while the articles are really interesting, I know that once the reviews are written then it’s the finals time, and then I’m done. I am ready to graduate, but it sped up at me faster than I imagined.

All the things I have left to do before graduation!

All the things I have left to do before graduation!

It has always been a goal of mine to graduate college with honors, and as of right now I’m on the right path to graduate cum laude. To graduate cum laude, you have to have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 to 3.75, and I currently have a cumulative GPA of 3.57. I have worked exceptionally hard this semester to do everything I can to maintain this GPA, or raise it even, because this is an honor and achievement that I wholeheartedly want. It is especially important to me because my grandfather on my mother’s side told me that he is the only one in our family to graduate college cum laude, and I would love to share this honor with him! Currently, I have all As in my classes, but in some classes I’m riding the borderline and I know that I have to study hard for my finals in order to hold down these As. I also am pushing myself pretty hard because I have never had a semester where I achieved all As and I would love to achieve this feat in my last semester.

Studying and performing well is really important to me, but while I am studying I have to remember my relationships, too. I am not ready to say goodbye to my friends, and most importantly, my Kappa sisters. I have been a part of this sisterhood since the third week of my first semester of college, and I’ve spent the last three and a half years helping and shaping my sorority into what it is today. I became an inactive member this semester, which basically means that I do not actively participate in the goings on of my sorority, but I help wherever I can and I still live in the sorority house. I chose to go inactive because of my intense need to buckle down on my studies, and without having pledges this semester I did not think that the other girls needed my constant aid, even though they wanted me to stay active. I am so proud of my sisters for all of their amazing work this semester, and I feel bad that I have been secluding myself to my room a lot in order to study and finish assignments. Recently I’ve done my best to be more available to them; I tagged along on a trip to Fountain City last week because some of the girls really wanted Krispy Kreme donuts. I keep my door open more now than I did at the beginning of the semester, so even if I am working, the girls know that they can come in and talk to me, which I love.

My gown!

My gown!

All of this hard work is leading to a rewarding yet emotional day for me. On May 3rd I will graduate from LMU with my Bachelor in Business Administration in Accounting, hopefully cum laude! I would also like to tell the world that I have been accepted into LMU’s Master of Business Administration program, and if I can get a Graduate Assistantship position, then I will be coming back in the fall to begin my graduate career. Remember to please like my blog, and leave me a comment! Are there any deadlines that have you worried? Let me know!

Love always,

Miss Kim

One thought on “It’s the Final Countdown!

  1. So proud of everything you have accomplished in your undergraduate career and your writings!! You are a talented young woman whose world will be wide open for you to explore! Love, Mom and dad

Leave a Reply

