Music in My Soul Makes Me Feel Whole

Over the years I have developed an eclectic taste in music, which largely revolves around the music my mom had me listen to when I was younger, and anything by Amanda Palmer. Anytime we would drive anywhere, my mom always had this mix tape in the car that played all of her favorite songs.

My mom and me

My mom and me

We always went on long car trips –I feel like we went sightseeing every weekend– and my sisters and I were encouraged to sing along with the music to help the trip go by faster. I grew up listening to Simon and Garfunkel, Chris de Burgh, The Police, and many other artists from my mother’s childhood.

These songs she would play for us have been permanently implanted into my brain, and every time I hear them I am transported back to the car rides we used to take when we lived in England. Her music comforted me. Even when I get homesick at school, I play Sound of Silence by Simon and Garfunkel, and I think of my mom and the homesickness subsides. I recently got an adapter cord to connect my iPod to the radio, and I’ve made sure to add my mom’s music as a playlist. When I make the long car rides from Memphis to LMU, it feels like my mom is right there with me.

When I was in middle school, I learned to play the saxophone in band class, and this new appreciation for orchestra music affected my musical choices. I happened to stumble onto a band called The Dresden Dolls back when YouTube was relatively new, and I’ve been hooked to the vocal styling of Amanda Palmer ever since. The Dresden Dolls genre is ‘punk cabaret’, with Amanda Palmer on piano and vocals, and Brian Viglione on drums. The music is so full and beautiful to me; it’s filled with so much emotion, it blows my mind that there are only two members, and the majority of their songs feature just the piano and drums.

The Dresden Dolls

The Dresden Dolls

Amanda Palmer, since then, has gone on to solo work and other projects, and now has a new band called Amanda Palmer and the Grand Theft Orchestra. Her music is so passionate, and the instrumentals are so genuine that sometimes it makes me sad and lonely, but other times it makes me sing with such gusto it’s borderline screaming! No matter how I’m feeling, when Want it Back by Amanda Palmer and the Grand Theft Orchestra comes on, I stop what I’m doing and belt it out!

My music isn’t mainstream; you won’t hear it on the radio. I often find my friends have a hard time adjusting to my style of music because they’ve never been exposed to it. Every time I try to share my music with my friends, they automatically recoil because it’s new. To be honest, I have the same problem they do. I do not easily accept new artists, especially if they sound too similar to someone else. I hate to use the word snob, but sometimes I judge music that way. This does not mean I do not like mainstream music; I love Katy Perry and Miley Cyrus more than I’d like to admit, and Roar by Katy Perry became my volleyball anthem last semester! For some reason, my brain appreciates music that sounds completely new and different from everything else I’ve heard. I’m attracted to artists I cannot mistake for someone else. For example, when I hear David Bowie, I instantly recognize his musical styling. This feeling translates into my own life; I do not want to be exactly like someone else. My identity is solely my own and I love the things that shape me into me! My favorite song is Every You, Every Me by Placebo, and I can honestly say I’ve never heard anything like it.

Music is so much more to me than a catchy beat; it’s the emotion and stories of talented artists. Music is my transportation to memories that cannot be accessed any other way. My music is the sound of my soul, and I’d love to share it with you. What kind of music do you relate to? Who is your favorite artist? Please subscribe to my blog, and leave me a comment!

Love always,

Miss Kim

One thought on “Music in My Soul Makes Me Feel Whole

  1. Music makes you whole! I’m glad I shared my music with you, just like I am glad you share your music with me! Love the mix CD’s you make me!!

Leave a Reply

